Costumes for the Pop-Culturally Inclined

31 Oct


Posted by: mthep

We here at Broadcouching are wishing everyone, especially you east-coasters, a safe and happy Halloween. May your pillowcases overflow with full-size candy bars from the rich part of town!

Here’s a spooky scary story from my childhood to fill up space between here and the costume gallery below. Muwahaha!

When I was 8 or 9, I convinced my mom to make me a cat costume for Halloween. I was decked out from head-to-toe in the itchiest white plastic fake “fur” from Jo-Ann Fabrics imaginable, and I loved it. I was a painfully shy kid, and Halloween was the one time I could seek out attention in a way that still made me feel safe. The way I figured it, people wouldn’t actually be looking at me – they’d be looking at the costume instead.

I couldn’t wait to get outside and start showing off my awesome cat costume. One of the first doors I knocked on happened to be, in retrospect, a college house that was having a Halloween party of the drinking kind. The door opened up to a dimly lit, very crowded, and very loud living room scene. The girl who answered the door started drunkenly fawning over me, and somehow pushed me further into the house, for all the other party-goers to see. I was quickly surrounded by “grown-ups” oohing and ahhing at me, and I could even feel some hands petting my costume. The doorway seemed like it was miles away, and I was trapped. I was terrified that I was one step away from being kidnapped, but I also wasn’t about to run out of there without getting some candy.

By the time I was finally ushered back outside, I had started to feel overly warm and woozy from all the non-breathable polyester I was encapsulated in; and maybe a little dizzy from the attention, too. I made it safely back down to the sidewalk where my dad was waiting for me… and fainted at his feet. Thankfully, he was there to catch me, and carry me the half a block back home.

OOOoooOOOhhh! 

Nowadays, I turn to the internets for costume inspiration. I really enjoy seeing so many people putting in the time and effort to make clever, original, non-prepackaged costumes. I accept that there will always be a market for all of those sexy fill-in-the-blank costumes, but this gallery gives me hope that we’re not all doomed to wander the streets as sexy remote controls.

Do you have any fond (or not so fond) memories of your childhood costumes? Let us know in the comments!

5 Responses to “Costumes for the Pop-Culturally Inclined”

  1. athed October 31, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    One time (and by one time, I mean every time) my mom didn’t have a costume ready for me, so she put me in one of my dad’s suit coats and gave me a briefcase. But since I didn’t have pants on, only nylons, I looked like a slutty child banker. It was horrible.

    • mthep October 31, 2012 at 11:41 am #

      Why have I never seen a picture of this! I love it.

  2. athed October 31, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    There are absolutely no pictures of this anywhere.

  3. Carly Voshell November 19, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    I love halloween costumes that are based on pop culture, especially costumes specific to the year. In Junior High I wore an old suit from my mom and carried a ziploc bag with a bloody glove. That’s right, I was Marcia Clark from the OJ Trial! If only I had as much time and energy to put into costume as an adult! This year I was Rosie the Riveter (denim shirt from goodwill, red polka dot fabric, red lipstick.) It was a really fun and easy costume to put together but it was too common. I saw it all over FB, Parks and Rec, and even the Saturday morning news.

    • athed December 13, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      The Marcia Clark costume sounds genius!

Leave a comment